Bicycling and Walking Vacations Since 1971 Call a VBT Tour Consultant: (800) 245-3868

Tuscany by the Sea

Discover by bike where Tuscany pours into the Tyrrhenian Sea, tranquility washes over Italy’s unspoiled Maremma region and Italian hospitality overflows in ancient towns and at locally-owned agriturismi.

  • 10 Days
  • Activity Level: Easy / Moderate
  • Daily Mileage: 15 - 35 mi
  • Daily Biking: 2 - 5 hr
  • Small Groups: 20
  • Biking
  • Easy / Moderate
  • Plane

Why You'll Love This Tour

Overview

Tuscany by the Sea

It’s a breathtaking and serene coast made for riding, picnicking, and swimming. We’ll do all that, plus follow cycling paths along nature reserves, into medieval towns whose ramparts invite leisurely walks, and out to an island torn from the Middle Ages. Along the way, gracious hosts share the bounty of their beloved farmland—and a bit of themselves—during olive oil samplings, wine tastings, and pastry-making. What’s more, we end each glorious day as guests at a classic agriturismo farmhouse and a stunning secluded villa. Join us on this VBT favorite!

Cultural Highlights

  • Stay at a charming agriturismo that produces their own wines, olive oils and more
  • Enjoy an Italian pastry lesson at our agriturismo
  • Cycle along a stunning route offering views of the countryside, elegant villas and gardens, and the sea
  • Take advantage of many opportunities for a refreshing swim
  • Ferry to Giglio Island and enjoy a day at leisure exploring (March and late Sepember and October departures visit Tarquinia instead)
  • Find a warm welcome at an olive oil mill, where you'll enjoy a tasting and a picnic lunch
  • Enjoy a tasting of wines produced right at our villa in Magliano
  • Discover Magliano, a fortified city whose intact walls date as far back as the 14th century
  • Admire fabulous views from the ramparts of an ancient castle in Capalbio
  • Sample genuine Italian gelato, a rich ice cream

What to Expect

This tour offers a combination of easy terrain and moderate hills and is ideal for beginning and experienced cyclists. Our VBT support van is always available for those who need assistance with the hills. Average Daily Mileage: 15-35 miles Average Cycling Time: 2-5 hours

Climate Information

Average Daily Temperature (°F) – Rome Mar 59° Apr 64° May 72° Jun 78° Jul 83° Aug 83° Sep 79° Oct 71° Average Rainfall (in.) – Rome Mar 2.6  Apr 2.1  May 1.2  Jun .6  Jul .6  Aug 1.3  Sep 2.7  Oct 3.7

What’s Included:

Bicycle Tour Only – without Air

  • 6 nights in 3- and 4-star hotels and a country resort
  • 13 meals – 6 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 4 dinners

Air Package Plus

  • Roundtrip international airfare
  • 8 nights in 3- and 4-star hotels and a country resort
  • 15 meals – 8 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 4 dinners
  • Transfers
  • AND the option to add our Low-Cost Trip Extensions: Pre-trip: Orvieto – 2 nights for only $245 • Post-trip: Rome – 2 nights for only $345

Both Vacation Options Include

  • FREE use of our custom VBT bicycle and helmet
  • Service of two bilingual VBT Trip Leaders
  • FULL VAN SUPPORT
  • Daily route directions and maps
  • Welcome reception with local wine and hors d'oeuvres
  • Sightseeing and cultural activities
  • 5% Frequent Traveler Credit to use on your next VBT vacation
  • Special Good Buy Discount
Dates & Prices
Please choose your preferred airport from the drop down menu or select up to 3 to compare pricing

 

  • Select Airport

Departure &
Return Dates

Now Showing:

NEW YORK

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

LOS ANGELES

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

BOSTON

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

Land Only

Air Not Included,
Departs after Air Package Plus.
April
Fri, Apr 10
to Sun, Apr 19
Departure: Friday, April 10
Return: Sun, Apr 19
Close
From $3,345
  • From $3,345
  • Fri, Apr 10
    to Sun, Apr 19
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,645
  • From $3,645
  • Fri, Apr 10
    to Sun, Apr 19
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,395
  • From $3,395
  • Fri, Apr 10
    to Sun, Apr 19
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,445
  • From $2,445
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Apr 24
to Sun, May 3
Departure: Friday, April 24
Return: Sun, May 3
Close
From $3,745
  • From $3,745
  • Fri, Apr 24
    to Sun, May 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, Apr 24
    to Sun, May 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Fri, Apr 24
    to Sun, May 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
May
Fri, May 1
to Sun, May 10
Departure: Friday, May 1
Return: Sun, May 10
Close
From $3,745
  • From $3,745
  • Fri, May 1
    to Sun, May 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, May 1
    to Sun, May 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Fri, May 1
    to Sun, May 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, May 8
to Sun, May 17
Departure: Friday, May 8
Return: Sun, May 17
Close
From $3,745
  • From $3,745
  • Fri, May 8
    to Sun, May 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, May 8
    to Sun, May 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Fri, May 8
    to Sun, May 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, May 15
to Sun, May 24
Departure: Friday, May 15
Return: Sun, May 24
Close
From $3,745
  • From $3,745
  • Fri, May 15
    to Sun, May 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, May 15
    to Sun, May 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Fri, May 15
    to Sun, May 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, May 18
to Wed, May 27
Departure: Monday, May 18
Return: Wed, May 27
Close
From $3,745
  • From $3,745
  • Mon, May 18
    to Wed, May 27
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Mon, May 18
    to Wed, May 27
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Mon, May 18
    to Wed, May 27
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, May 22
to Sun, May 31
Departure: Friday, May 22
Return: Sun, May 31
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, May 22
    to Sun, May 31
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Fri, May 22
    to Sun, May 31
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,345
  • From $4,345
  • Fri, May 22
    to Sun, May 31
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, May 29
to Sun, Jun 7
Departure: Friday, May 29
Return: Sun, Jun 7
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Fri, May 29
    to Sun, Jun 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Fri, May 29
    to Sun, Jun 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, May 29
    to Sun, Jun 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
June
Fri, Jun 5
to Sun, Jun 14
Departure: Friday, June 5
Return: Sun, Jun 14
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Fri, Jun 5
    to Sun, Jun 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Fri, Jun 5
    to Sun, Jun 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Jun 5
    to Sun, Jun 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jun 12
to Sun, Jun 21
Departure: Friday, June 12
Return: Sun, Jun 21
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Fri, Jun 12
    to Sun, Jun 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Fri, Jun 12
    to Sun, Jun 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Jun 12
    to Sun, Jun 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jun 19
to Sun, Jun 28
Departure: Friday, June 19
Return: Sun, Jun 28
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Fri, Jun 19
    to Sun, Jun 28
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Fri, Jun 19
    to Sun, Jun 28
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Jun 19
    to Sun, Jun 28
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Jun 22
to Wed, Jul 1
Departure: Monday, June 22
Return: Wed, Jul 1
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Mon, Jun 22
    to Wed, Jul 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Mon, Jun 22
    to Wed, Jul 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Jun 22
    to Wed, Jul 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jun 26
to Sun, Jul 5
Departure: Friday, June 26
Return: Sun, Jul 5
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Fri, Jun 26
    to Sun, Jul 5
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Fri, Jun 26
    to Sun, Jul 5
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Jun 26
    to Sun, Jul 5
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Jun 29
to Wed, Jul 8
Departure: Monday, June 29
Return: Wed, Jul 8
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Mon, Jun 29
    to Wed, Jul 8
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Mon, Jun 29
    to Wed, Jul 8
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Jun 29
    to Wed, Jul 8
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
July
Fri, Jul 3
to Sun, Jul 12
Departure: Friday, July 3
Return: Sun, Jul 12
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Fri, Jul 3
    to Sun, Jul 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Jul 3
    to Sun, Jul 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Jul 3
    to Sun, Jul 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jul 10
to Sun, Jul 19
Departure: Friday, July 10
Return: Sun, Jul 19
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Fri, Jul 10
    to Sun, Jul 19
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Jul 10
    to Sun, Jul 19
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Jul 10
    to Sun, Jul 19
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Jul 13
to Wed, Jul 22
Departure: Monday, July 13
Return: Wed, Jul 22
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Mon, Jul 13
    to Wed, Jul 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Jul 13
    to Wed, Jul 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Mon, Jul 13
    to Wed, Jul 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jul 17
to Sun, Jul 26
Departure: Friday, July 17
Return: Sun, Jul 26
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Fri, Jul 17
    to Sun, Jul 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Jul 17
    to Sun, Jul 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Jul 17
    to Sun, Jul 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Jul 20
to Wed, Jul 29
Departure: Monday, July 20
Return: Wed, Jul 29
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Mon, Jul 20
    to Wed, Jul 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Jul 20
    to Wed, Jul 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Mon, Jul 20
    to Wed, Jul 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
August
Fri, Aug 28
to Sun, Sep 6
Departure: Friday, August 28
Return: Sun, Sep 6
Close
From $3,645
  • From $3,645
  • Fri, Aug 28
    to Sun, Sep 6
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,945
  • From $3,945
  • Fri, Aug 28
    to Sun, Sep 6
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,695
  • From $3,695
  • Fri, Aug 28
    to Sun, Sep 6
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,645
  • From $2,645
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Aug 31
to Wed, Sep 9
Departure: Monday, August 31
Return: Wed, Sep 9
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Mon, Aug 31
    to Wed, Sep 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Aug 31
    to Wed, Sep 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Mon, Aug 31
    to Wed, Sep 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
September
Fri, Sep 4
to Sun, Sep 13
Departure: Friday, September 4
Return: Sun, Sep 13
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Fri, Sep 4
    to Sun, Sep 13
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Sep 4
    to Sun, Sep 13
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Sep 4
    to Sun, Sep 13
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 7
to Wed, Sep 16
Departure: Monday, September 7
Return: Wed, Sep 16
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Mon, Sep 7
    to Wed, Sep 16
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Sep 7
    to Wed, Sep 16
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Sep 7
    to Wed, Sep 16
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 11
to Sun, Sep 20
Departure: Friday, September 11
Return: Sun, Sep 20
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Fri, Sep 11
    to Sun, Sep 20
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Sep 11
    to Sun, Sep 20
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Sep 11
    to Sun, Sep 20
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 14
to Wed, Sep 23
Departure: Monday, September 14
Return: Wed, Sep 23
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Mon, Sep 14
    to Wed, Sep 23
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Sep 14
    to Wed, Sep 23
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Sep 14
    to Wed, Sep 23
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 18
to Sun, Sep 27
Departure: Friday, September 18
Return: Sun, Sep 27
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Fri, Sep 18
    to Sun, Sep 27
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Sep 18
    to Sun, Sep 27
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Sep 18
    to Sun, Sep 27
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 21
to Wed, Sep 30
Departure: Monday, September 21
Return: Wed, Sep 30
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Mon, Sep 21
    to Wed, Sep 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Sep 21
    to Wed, Sep 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Sep 21
    to Wed, Sep 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 25
to Sun, Oct 4
Departure: Friday, September 25
Return: Sun, Oct 4
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Fri, Sep 25
    to Sun, Oct 4
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Sep 25
    to Sun, Oct 4
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Sep 25
    to Sun, Oct 4
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 28
to Wed, Oct 7
Departure: Monday, September 28
Return: Wed, Oct 7
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Mon, Sep 28
    to Wed, Oct 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Sep 28
    to Wed, Oct 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Sep 28
    to Wed, Oct 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
October
Fri, Oct 2
to Sun, Oct 11
Departure: Friday, October 2
Return: Sun, Oct 11
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Fri, Oct 2
    to Sun, Oct 11
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Oct 2
    to Sun, Oct 11
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Oct 2
    to Sun, Oct 11
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Oct 5
to Wed, Oct 14
Departure: Monday, October 5
Return: Wed, Oct 14
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Mon, Oct 5
    to Wed, Oct 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Oct 5
    to Wed, Oct 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Mon, Oct 5
    to Wed, Oct 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Oct 9
to Sun, Oct 18
Departure: Friday, October 9
Return: Sun, Oct 18
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Fri, Oct 9
    to Sun, Oct 18
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Oct 9
    to Sun, Oct 18
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Oct 9
    to Sun, Oct 18
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Oct 12
to Wed, Oct 21
Departure: Monday, October 12
Return: Wed, Oct 21
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Mon, Oct 12
    to Wed, Oct 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Oct 12
    to Wed, Oct 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Mon, Oct 12
    to Wed, Oct 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close