Bicycling and Walking Vacations Call a VBT Tour Consultant: (800) 245-3868

Tuscany by the Sea

Ebikes Available on this TourDiscover where Tuscany pours into the Tyrrhenian Sea on this Tuscany Bike Tour through Italy’s unspoiled Maremma region and Italian hospitality overflows in ancient towns and at locally-owned agriturismi.

  • 10 Days
  • Activity Level: Easy / Moderate
  • Daily Mileage: 15 - 35 mi
  • Daily Biking: 2 - 5 hr
  • Small Groups: 20
  • Biking Activity
  • Ideal for energetic beginners to more experienced riders.
  • Airfare Packages Available

Ebikes Available on this Tour

E-Bikes Available

Limited quantities —
first come, first served.

Why You'll Love This Tour

Overview

Tuscany by the Sea

Spin through the rolling countryside of the Maremma, one of the least-developed areas of central Italy—and a sleepy coastal jewel abounding in bucolic farms, soothing seascapes and ancient walled cities. Along the way, you’ll admire the view from atop medieval ramparts, ferry across the Tyrrhenian Sea and savor the flavors of Tuscany’s farm-to-table cuisine, locally milled olive oil and rustic Tuscan wines. Our choice of four-star accommodations offers ample amenities for relaxing after your day of cycling—as well as active options like horseback riding and swimming.

Cultural Highlights

  • Stay at an agriturismo resort featured in Condé Nast Traveler
  • Ride the pathways of Maremma Park, a World Wildlife Fund preserve
  • Sample renowned Morellino and Tuscan wines
  • Savor fresh farm cuisine during stays at fattorie lodgings
  • Dip your toes or go swimming at Tyrrhenian Sea beaches
  • Learn from a Tuscan chef how to prepare cantucci almond cookies
  • Taste freshly pressed olive oil at the Andreini family mill
  • Enjoy a memorable picnic at an organic vegetable and cattle farm
  • Pedal across Orbetello Lagoon, a scenic treasure
  • Pause from invigorating rides to seek out your favorite gelato
  • Walk a panoramic trail with a local guide on Giglio Island

What to Expect

This tour offers a combination of easy terrain and moderate hills and is ideal for beginning and experienced cyclists. Our VBT support shuttle is always available for those who need assistance with the hills.

Average Daily Mileage: 15 – 35 miles
Average Cycling Time: 2 – 5 hours

Climate Information

Average High/Low Temperature (°F) – Rome
March  61º/40º  April  67º/45º  May  72º/53º  Jun  78º/60º  Jul  83º/65º  Aug  83º/65º  Sep 79º/60º  Oct 71º/54º

Average Precipitation (in.) – Rome
Mar 2.7  Apr 2.7  May 1.2  Jun 0.6  Jul 0.6  Aug 1.3   Sep  2.7  Oct 3.7

What’s Included:

Ebikes Available on this Tour

E-Bikes Available on this tour.

Limited quantities — first come, first served. Learn more.

Bicycle Vacation Only – without Air

  •  6 nights in 4-star small country resorts
  • 14 meals – 6 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 5 dinners

Air Package Plus

  • Roundtrip international airfare
  • 6 nights in 3- and 4-star hotels and small country resorts
    PLUS: 1 extra night in Orvieto and 1 extra night in Rome in 3- and 4- star hotels
  • 16 meals – 8 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 5 dinners
  • ALL overseas transfers
  • AND the option to add our Low-Cost Trip Extensions: Pre-trip: Orvieto – 2 nights for only $295 • Post-trip: Rome – 2 nights for only $345

Both Vacation Options Include

Dates & Prices
Refine Your Tour Results
  • Select Airport
    Close
  • Select Months
    Close

Departure &
Return Dates

Now Showing:

NEW YORK

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

LOS ANGELES

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

BOSTON

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

Land Only

Air Not Included,
Departs after Air Package Plus.
August
Fri, Aug 31
to Sun, Sep 9
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Aug 31
    to Sun, Sep 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Fri, Aug 31
    to Sun, Sep 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Fri, Aug 31
    to Sun, Sep 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Sep 2
to Sat, Sep 8

Tour Begins: Sunday, September 2
Tour Ends: Saturday, September 8

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
September
Mon, Sep 3
to Wed, Sep 12
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Sep 3
    to Wed, Sep 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Mon, Sep 3
    to Wed, Sep 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Mon, Sep 3
    to Wed, Sep 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Sep 5
to Tue, Sep 11

Tour Begins: Wednesday, September 5
Tour Ends: Tuesday, September 11

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 7
to Sun, Sep 16
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Sep 7
    to Sun, Sep 16
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Fri, Sep 7
    to Sun, Sep 16
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Fri, Sep 7
    to Sun, Sep 16
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Sep 9
to Sat, Sep 15

Tour Begins: Sunday, September 9
Tour Ends: Saturday, September 15

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 17
to Wed, Sep 26
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Sep 17
    to Wed, Sep 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Mon, Sep 17
    to Wed, Sep 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Mon, Sep 17
    to Wed, Sep 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Sep 19
to Tue, Sep 25

Tour Begins: Wednesday, September 19
Tour Ends: Tuesday, September 25

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 21
to Sun, Sep 30
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Sep 21
    to Sun, Sep 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Fri, Sep 21
    to Sun, Sep 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Fri, Sep 21
    to Sun, Sep 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Sep 23
to Sat, Sep 29

Tour Begins: Sunday, September 23
Tour Ends: Saturday, September 29

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
October
Mon, Oct 1
to Wed, Oct 10
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Mon, Oct 1
    to Wed, Oct 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Oct 1
    to Wed, Oct 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Oct 1
    to Wed, Oct 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Oct 3
to Tue, Oct 9

Tour Begins: Wednesday, October 3
Tour Ends: Tuesday, October 9

Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Oct 5
to Sun, Oct 14
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Fri, Oct 5
    to Sun, Oct 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Oct 5
    to Sun, Oct 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Oct 5
    to Sun, Oct 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Oct 7
to Sat, Oct 13

Tour Begins: Sunday, October 7
Tour Ends: Saturday, October 13

Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Oct 12
to Sun, Oct 21
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Fri, Oct 12
    to Sun, Oct 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Oct 12
    to Sun, Oct 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Oct 12
    to Sun, Oct 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Oct 14
to Sat, Oct 20

Tour Begins: Sunday, October 14
Tour Ends: Saturday, October 20

Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close