Bicycling and Walking Vacations Call a VBT Tour Consultant: (800) 245-3868

Tuscany by the Sea

Ebikes Available on this TourDiscover where Tuscany pours into the Tyrrhenian Sea on this Tuscany Bike Tour through Italy’s unspoiled Maremma region and Italian hospitality overflows in ancient towns and at locally-owned agriturismi.

  • 10 Days
  • Activity Level: Easy / Moderate
  • Daily Mileage: 15 - 35 mi
  • Daily Biking: 2 - 5 hr
  • Small Groups: 20
  • Biking Activity
  • Ideal for energetic beginners to more experienced riders.
  • Airfare Packages Available

Download Our Free Italy Travel Guide

Ebikes Available on this Tour

E-Bikes Available

Limited quantities —
first come, first serve.

Why You'll Love This Tour

Overview

Tuscany by the Sea

Spin through the rolling countryside of the Maremma, one of the least-developed areas of central Italy—and a sleepy coastal jewel abounding in bucolic farms, soothing seascapes and ancient walled cities. Along the way, you’ll admire the view from atop medieval ramparts, ferry across the Tyrrhenian Sea and savor the flavors of Tuscany’s farm-to-table cuisine, locally milled olive oil and rustic Tuscan wines. Our choice of four-star accommodations offers ample amenities for relaxing after your day of cycling—as well as active options like horseback riding and swimming.

Cultural Highlights

  • Stay at an agriturismo resort featured in Condé Nast Traveler
  • Cycle lush Maremma Park, a World Wildlife Fund preserve
  • Savor the famed Morellino and Tuscan wines
  • Enjoy farm-to-table cuisine at Tuscan fattorie lodgings
  • Swim and sunbathe at beaches along the Tyrrhenian Sea
  • Learn to bake Tuscan cantucci almond cookies
  • Visit the Andreini family olive oil mill for a tasting
  • Picnic at a Maremma organic vegetable and cattle farm
  • Cycle a scenic byway across Orbetello Lagoon
  • Find your favorite gelati flavors during ice cream breaks

What to Expect

This tour offers a combination of easy terrain and moderate hills and is ideal for beginning and experienced cyclists. Our VBT support shuttle is always available for those who need assistance with the hills.

Average Daily Mileage: 15 – 35 miles
Average Cycling Time: 2 – 5 hours

Climate Information

Average High/Low Temperature (°F) – Rome
March  61º/40º  April  67º/45º  May  72º/53º  Jun  78º/60º  Jul  83º/65º  Aug  83º/65º  Sep 79º/60º  Oct 71º/54º

Average Precipitation (in.) – Rome
Mar 2.7  Apr 2.7  May 1.2  Jun 0.6  Jul 0.6  Aug 1.3   Sep  2.7  Oct 3.7

What’s Included:

Ebikes Available on this Tour

E-Bikes Available on this tour.

Limited quantities — first come, first serve. Learn more.

Bicycle Vacation Only – without Air

  •  6 nights in 4-star country resorts
  • 13 meals – 6 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 4 dinners

Air Package Plus

  • Roundtrip international airfare
  • 6 nights in 3- and 4-star hotels and country resorts
    PLUS: 1 extra night in Orvieto and 1 extra night in Rome in 3- and 4- star hotels
  • 15 meals – 8 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 4 dinners
  • ALL overseas transfers
  • AND the option to add our Low-Cost Trip Extensions: Pre-trip: Orvieto – 2 nights for only $295 • Post-trip: Rome – 2 nights for only $345

Both Vacation Options Include

Reading List

Click here to download our Suggested Reading List.

Dates & Prices
Refine Your Tour Results
  • Select Airport
    Close
  • Select Months
    Close

Departure &
Return Dates

Now Showing:

NEW YORK

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

LOS ANGELES

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

BOSTON

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

Land Only

Air Not Included,
Departs after Air Package Plus.
March
Fri, Mar 23
to Sun, Apr 1
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $3,445
  • From $3,445
  • Fri, Mar 23
    to Sun, Apr 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Fri, Mar 23
    to Sun, Apr 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,545
  • From $3,545
  • Fri, Mar 23
    to Sun, Apr 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Mar 25
to Sat, Mar 31

Tour Begins: Sunday, March 25
Tour Ends: Saturday, March 31

Close
From $2,595
  • From $2,595
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Mar 30
to Sun, Apr 8
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $3,445
  • From $3,445
  • Fri, Mar 30
    to Sun, Apr 8
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Fri, Mar 30
    to Sun, Apr 8
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,545
  • From $3,545
  • Fri, Mar 30
    to Sun, Apr 8
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Apr 1
to Sat, Apr 7

Tour Begins: Sunday, April 1
Tour Ends: Saturday, April 7

Close
From $2,595
  • From $2,595
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
April
Fri, Apr 20
to Sun, Apr 29
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $3,845
  • From $3,845
  • Fri, Apr 20
    to Sun, Apr 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Fri, Apr 20
    to Sun, Apr 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,945
  • From $3,945
  • Fri, Apr 20
    to Sun, Apr 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Apr 22
to Sat, Apr 28

Tour Begins: Sunday, April 22
Tour Ends: Saturday, April 28

Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
May
Fri, May 4
to Sun, May 13
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $3,845
  • From $3,845
  • Fri, May 4
    to Sun, May 13
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Fri, May 4
    to Sun, May 13
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,945
  • From $3,945
  • Fri, May 4
    to Sun, May 13
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, May 6
to Sat, May 12

Tour Begins: Sunday, May 6
Tour Ends: Saturday, May 12

Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, May 11
to Sun, May 20
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $3,845
  • From $3,845
  • Fri, May 11
    to Sun, May 20
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Fri, May 11
    to Sun, May 20
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,945
  • From $3,945
  • Fri, May 11
    to Sun, May 20
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, May 13
to Sat, May 19

Tour Begins: Sunday, May 13
Tour Ends: Saturday, May 19

Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, May 18
to Sun, May 27
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, May 18
    to Sun, May 27
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Fri, May 18
    to Sun, May 27
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, May 18
    to Sun, May 27
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, May 20
to Sat, May 26

Tour Begins: Sunday, May 20
Tour Ends: Saturday, May 26

Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, May 25
to Sun, Jun 3
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, May 25
    to Sun, Jun 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Fri, May 25
    to Sun, Jun 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, May 25
    to Sun, Jun 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, May 27
to Sat, Jun 2

Tour Begins: Sunday, May 27
Tour Ends: Saturday, June 2

Close
From $2,895
  • From $2,895
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
June
Fri, Jun 1
to Sun, Jun 10
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Jun 1
    to Sun, Jun 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,895
  • From $4,895
  • Fri, Jun 1
    to Sun, Jun 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,645
  • From $4,645
  • Fri, Jun 1
    to Sun, Jun 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Jun 3
to Sat, Jun 9

Tour Begins: Sunday, June 3
Tour Ends: Saturday, June 9

Close
From $3,045
  • From $3,045
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Jun 4
to Wed, Jun 13
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Jun 4
    to Wed, Jun 13
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,895
  • From $4,895
  • Mon, Jun 4
    to Wed, Jun 13
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,645
  • From $4,645
  • Mon, Jun 4
    to Wed, Jun 13
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Jun 6
to Tue, Jun 12

Tour Begins: Wednesday, June 6
Tour Ends: Tuesday, June 12

Close
From $3,045
  • From $3,045
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jun 8
to Sun, Jun 17
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Jun 8
    to Sun, Jun 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,895
  • From $4,895
  • Fri, Jun 8
    to Sun, Jun 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,645
  • From $4,645
  • Fri, Jun 8
    to Sun, Jun 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Jun 10
to Sat, Jun 16

Tour Begins: Sunday, June 10
Tour Ends: Saturday, June 16

Close
From $3,045
  • From $3,045
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jun 15
to Sun, Jun 24
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Jun 15
    to Sun, Jun 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,895
  • From $4,895
  • Fri, Jun 15
    to Sun, Jun 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,645
  • From $4,645
  • Fri, Jun 15
    to Sun, Jun 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Jun 17
to Sat, Jun 23

Tour Begins: Sunday, June 17
Tour Ends: Saturday, June 23

Close
From $3,045
  • From $3,045
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jun 22
to Sun, Jul 1
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Jun 22
    to Sun, Jul 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,895
  • From $4,895
  • Fri, Jun 22
    to Sun, Jul 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,645
  • From $4,645
  • Fri, Jun 22
    to Sun, Jul 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Jun 24
to Sat, Jun 30

Tour Begins: Sunday, June 24
Tour Ends: Saturday, June 30

Close
From $3,045
  • From $3,045
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
July
Mon, Jul 2
to Wed, Jul 11
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,345
  • From $4,345
  • Mon, Jul 2
    to Wed, Jul 11
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,695
  • From $4,695
  • Mon, Jul 2
    to Wed, Jul 11
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Mon, Jul 2
    to Wed, Jul 11
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Jul 4
to Tue, Jul 10

Tour Begins: Wednesday, July 4
Tour Ends: Tuesday, July 10

Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jul 13
to Sun, Jul 22
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,345
  • From $4,345
  • Fri, Jul 13
    to Sun, Jul 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,695
  • From $4,695
  • Fri, Jul 13
    to Sun, Jul 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Fri, Jul 13
    to Sun, Jul 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Jul 15
to Sat, Jul 21

Tour Begins: Sunday, July 15
Tour Ends: Saturday, July 21

Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jul 20
to Sun, Jul 29
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,345
  • From $4,345
  • Fri, Jul 20
    to Sun, Jul 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,695
  • From $4,695
  • Fri, Jul 20
    to Sun, Jul 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Fri, Jul 20
    to Sun, Jul 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Jul 22
to Sat, Jul 28

Tour Begins: Sunday, July 22
Tour Ends: Saturday, July 28

Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
August
Fri, Aug 31
to Sun, Sep 9
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Aug 31
    to Sun, Sep 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Fri, Aug 31
    to Sun, Sep 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Fri, Aug 31
    to Sun, Sep 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Sep 2
to Sat, Sep 8

Tour Begins: Sunday, September 2
Tour Ends: Saturday, September 8

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
September
Mon, Sep 3
to Wed, Sep 12
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Sep 3
    to Wed, Sep 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Mon, Sep 3
    to Wed, Sep 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Mon, Sep 3
    to Wed, Sep 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Sep 5
to Tue, Sep 11

Tour Begins: Wednesday, September 5
Tour Ends: Tuesday, September 11

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 7
to Sun, Sep 16
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Sep 7
    to Sun, Sep 16
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Fri, Sep 7
    to Sun, Sep 16
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Fri, Sep 7
    to Sun, Sep 16
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Sep 9
to Sat, Sep 15

Tour Begins: Sunday, September 9
Tour Ends: Saturday, September 15

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 14
to Sun, Sep 23
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Sep 14
    to Sun, Sep 23
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Fri, Sep 14
    to Sun, Sep 23
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Fri, Sep 14
    to Sun, Sep 23
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Sep 16
to Sat, Sep 22

Tour Begins: Sunday, September 16
Tour Ends: Saturday, September 22

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 17
to Wed, Sep 26
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Sep 17
    to Wed, Sep 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Mon, Sep 17
    to Wed, Sep 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Mon, Sep 17
    to Wed, Sep 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Sep 19
to Tue, Sep 25

Tour Begins: Wednesday, September 19
Tour Ends: Tuesday, September 25

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 21
to Sun, Sep 30
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Sep 21
    to Sun, Sep 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Fri, Sep 21
    to Sun, Sep 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Fri, Sep 21
    to Sun, Sep 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Sep 23
to Sat, Sep 29

Tour Begins: Sunday, September 23
Tour Ends: Saturday, September 29

Close
From $3,145
  • From $3,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 28
to Sun, Oct 7
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,345
  • From $4,345
  • Fri, Sep 28
    to Sun, Oct 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,695
  • From $4,695
  • Fri, Sep 28
    to Sun, Oct 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,445
  • From $4,445
  • Fri, Sep 28
    to Sun, Oct 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Sun, Sep 30
to Sat, Oct 6

Tour Begins: Sunday, September 30
Tour Ends: Saturday, October 6

Close
From $2,995
  • From $2,995
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
October
Mon, Oct 1
to Wed, Oct 10
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Mon, Oct 1
    to Wed, Oct 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Oct 1
    to Wed, Oct 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Oct 1
    to Wed, Oct 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close