Bicycling and Walking Vacations Since 1971 Call a VBT Tour Consultant: (800) 245-3868

Tuscany by the Sea

Discover by bike where Tuscany pours into the Tyrrhenian Sea, tranquility washes over Italy’s unspoiled Maremma region and Italian hospitality overflows in ancient towns and at locally-owned agriturismi.

  • 10 Days
  • Activity Level: Easy / Moderate
  • Daily Mileage: 15 - 35 mi
  • Daily Biking: 2 - 5 hr
  • Small Groups: 20

Why You'll Love This Tour

Overview

Tuscany by the Sea

From the days of the Etruscans, maritime Tuscany has lured travelers to its fertile vineyards and valleys, refreshing seabreezes, and views that sweep out to the horizon. Indulge your senses in this unspoiled landscape, where your meals are prepared fresh from earth and sea, fields of poppies and sunflowers scroll past your gaze, history resounds in medieval villages, and sweet gelato dances on the tongue. You’ll also delight in the unique accommodations we’ve selected, offering you a glimpse of daily life, as well as the chance to unwind on a sunny terrace or refresh with a swim.

Cultural Highlights

  • Stay at a charming resort that has been featured in Condé Nast Traveler magazine
  • Pedal through the rolling countryside of the Maremma, a hidden gem of Italy
  • Enjoy opportunities for swimming, hiking, and horseback riding
  • Learn to prepare delicious Tuscan almond cookies
  • Picnic on the grounds of a vegetable and cattle farm
  • Cycle a scenic byway through a lush lagoon
  • Join local fishermen aboard their boat for a taste of fresh fish and wine
  • Soak in the medieval atmosphere of a walled hilltop town on Giglio Island (March, late September, and October departures visit Tarquinia instead)
  • Roll past fields of poppies and sunflowers and vineyards gently sloping down to the sea
  • Enjoy tastings of local olive oil and wine
  • Take in sweeping views from the ancient ramparts of Capalbio
  • Pause to enjoy gelato, Italy’s delicious ice cream, at stops along the way

What to Expect

This tour offers a combination of easy terrain and moderate hills and is ideal for beginning and experienced cyclists. Our VBT support van is always available for those who need assistance with the hills.

Average Daily Mileage: 15 – 35 miles
Average Cycling Time: 2 – 5 hours

Climate Information

Average Daily Temperature (°F) – Rome Mar 59° Apr 64° May 72° Jun 78° Jul 83° Aug 83° Sep 79° Oct 71°
Average Rainfall (in.) – Rome Mar 2.6  Apr 2.1  May 1.2  Jun .6  Jul .6  Aug 1.3  Sep 2.7  Oct 3.7

What’s Included:

Bicycle Tour Only – without Air

  • 6 nights in 3- and 4-star hotels and a country resort
  • 13 meals – 6 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 4 dinners

Air Package Plus

  • Roundtrip international airfare
  • 8 nights in 3- and 4-star hotels and a country resort
  • 15 meals – 8 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 4 dinners
  • Transfers
  • AND the option to add our Low-Cost Trip Extensions: Pre-trip: Orvieto – 2 nights for only $295 • Post-trip: Rome – 2 nights for only $345

Both Vacation Options Include

Dates & Prices

Please choose your preferred airport from the drop down menu or select up to 3 to compare pricing

 

  • Select Airport
  • Show All Results

Departure &
Return Dates

Now Showing:

NEW YORK

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

LOS ANGELES

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

BOSTON

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

Land Only

Air Not Included,
Departs after Air Package Plus.
March
Fri, Mar 25
to Sun, Apr 3
Departure: Friday, March 25
Return: Sun, Apr 3
Close
From $3,295
  • From $3,295
  • Fri, Mar 25
    to Sun, Apr 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,645
  • From $3,645
  • Fri, Mar 25
    to Sun, Apr 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,395
  • From $3,395
  • Fri, Mar 25
    to Sun, Apr 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,145
  • From $2,145
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
April
Fri, Apr 15
to Sun, Apr 24
Departure: Friday, April 15
Return: Sun, Apr 24
Close
From $3,295
  • From $3,295
  • Fri, Apr 15
    to Sun, Apr 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,645
  • From $3,645
  • Fri, Apr 15
    to Sun, Apr 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,395
  • From $3,395
  • Fri, Apr 15
    to Sun, Apr 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,295
  • From $2,295
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
May
Fri, May 6
to Sun, May 15
Departure: Friday, May 6
Return: Sun, May 15
Close
From $3,695
  • From $3,695
  • Fri, May 6
    to Sun, May 15
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, May 6
    to Sun, May 15
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Fri, May 6
    to Sun, May 15
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,595
  • From $2,595
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, May 9
to Wed, May 18
Departure: Monday, May 9
Return: Wed, May 18
Close
From $3,695
  • From $3,695
  • Mon, May 9
    to Wed, May 18
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Mon, May 9
    to Wed, May 18
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Mon, May 9
    to Wed, May 18
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,595
  • From $2,595
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, May 13
to Sun, May 22
Departure: Friday, May 13
Return: Sun, May 22
Close
From $3,695
  • From $3,695
  • Fri, May 13
    to Sun, May 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, May 13
    to Sun, May 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,795
  • From $3,795
  • Fri, May 13
    to Sun, May 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,595
  • From $2,595
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, May 16
to Wed, May 25
Departure: Monday, May 16
Return: Wed, May 25
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Mon, May 16
    to Wed, May 25
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Mon, May 16
    to Wed, May 25
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,345
  • From $4,345
  • Mon, May 16
    to Wed, May 25
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,595
  • From $2,595
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, May 20
to Sun, May 29
Departure: Friday, May 20
Return: Sun, May 29
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Fri, May 20
    to Sun, May 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Fri, May 20
    to Sun, May 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,345
  • From $4,345
  • Fri, May 20
    to Sun, May 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,595
  • From $2,595
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, May 23
to Wed, Jun 1
Departure: Monday, May 23
Return: Wed, Jun 1
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Mon, May 23
    to Wed, Jun 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Mon, May 23
    to Wed, Jun 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,345
  • From $4,345
  • Mon, May 23
    to Wed, Jun 1
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,595
  • From $2,595
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
June
Mon, Jun 6
to Wed, Jun 15
Departure: Monday, June 6
Return: Wed, Jun 15
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Jun 6
    to Wed, Jun 15
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Mon, Jun 6
    to Wed, Jun 15
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Jun 6
    to Wed, Jun 15
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Jun 13
to Wed, Jun 22
Departure: Monday, June 13
Return: Wed, Jun 22
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Jun 13
    to Wed, Jun 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Mon, Jun 13
    to Wed, Jun 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Jun 13
    to Wed, Jun 22
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jun 17
to Sun, Jun 26
Departure: Friday, June 17
Return: Sun, Jun 26
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Jun 17
    to Sun, Jun 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Fri, Jun 17
    to Sun, Jun 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Jun 17
    to Sun, Jun 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Jun 20
to Wed, Jun 29
Departure: Monday, June 20
Return: Wed, Jun 29
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Jun 20
    to Wed, Jun 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Mon, Jun 20
    to Wed, Jun 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Jun 20
    to Wed, Jun 29
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jun 24
to Sun, Jul 3
Departure: Friday, June 24
Return: Sun, Jul 3
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Jun 24
    to Sun, Jul 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Fri, Jun 24
    to Sun, Jul 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Fri, Jun 24
    to Sun, Jul 3
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Jun 27
to Wed, Jul 6
Departure: Monday, June 27
Return: Wed, Jul 6
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Jun 27
    to Wed, Jul 6
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,745
  • From $4,745
  • Mon, Jun 27
    to Wed, Jul 6
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Jun 27
    to Wed, Jul 6
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,745
  • From $2,745
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
July
Fri, Jul 1
to Sun, Jul 10
Departure: Friday, July 1
Return: Sun, Jul 10
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, Jul 1
    to Sun, Jul 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Jul 1
    to Sun, Jul 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Jul 1
    to Sun, Jul 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,695
  • From $2,695
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jul 8
to Sun, Jul 17
Departure: Friday, July 8
Return: Sun, Jul 17
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, Jul 8
    to Sun, Jul 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Jul 8
    to Sun, Jul 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Jul 8
    to Sun, Jul 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,695
  • From $2,695
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Jul 11
to Wed, Jul 20
Departure: Monday, July 11
Return: Wed, Jul 20
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Mon, Jul 11
    to Wed, Jul 20
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Jul 11
    to Wed, Jul 20
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Mon, Jul 11
    to Wed, Jul 20
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,695
  • From $2,695
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jul 15
to Sun, Jul 24
Departure: Friday, July 15
Return: Sun, Jul 24
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, Jul 15
    to Sun, Jul 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Jul 15
    to Sun, Jul 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Jul 15
    to Sun, Jul 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,695
  • From $2,695
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Jul 22
to Sun, Jul 31
Departure: Friday, July 22
Return: Sun, Jul 31
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, Jul 22
    to Sun, Jul 31
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Jul 22
    to Sun, Jul 31
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Jul 22
    to Sun, Jul 31
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,695
  • From $2,695
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
August
Mon, Aug 29
to Wed, Sep 7
Departure: Monday, August 29
Return: Wed, Sep 7
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Mon, Aug 29
    to Wed, Sep 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Aug 29
    to Wed, Sep 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,245
  • From $4,245
  • Mon, Aug 29
    to Wed, Sep 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
September
Fri, Sep 2
to Sun, Sep 11
Departure: Friday, September 2
Return: Sun, Sep 11
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Fri, Sep 2
    to Sun, Sep 11
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Sep 2
    to Sun, Sep 11
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Sep 2
    to Sun, Sep 11
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 5
to Wed, Sep 14
Departure: Monday, September 5
Return: Wed, Sep 14
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Mon, Sep 5
    to Wed, Sep 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Sep 5
    to Wed, Sep 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Sep 5
    to Wed, Sep 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 9
to Sun, Sep 18
Departure: Friday, September 9
Return: Sun, Sep 18
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Fri, Sep 9
    to Sun, Sep 18
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Sep 9
    to Sun, Sep 18
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Sep 9
    to Sun, Sep 18
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 12
to Wed, Sep 21
Departure: Monday, September 12
Return: Wed, Sep 21
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Mon, Sep 12
    to Wed, Sep 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Sep 12
    to Wed, Sep 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Sep 12
    to Wed, Sep 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 16
to Sun, Sep 25
Departure: Friday, September 16
Return: Sun, Sep 25
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Fri, Sep 16
    to Sun, Sep 25
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Sep 16
    to Sun, Sep 25
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Sep 16
    to Sun, Sep 25
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 19
to Wed, Sep 28
Departure: Monday, September 19
Return: Wed, Sep 28
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Mon, Sep 19
    to Wed, Sep 28
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Sep 19
    to Wed, Sep 28
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Sep 19
    to Wed, Sep 28
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 23
to Sun, Oct 2
Departure: Friday, September 23
Return: Sun, Oct 2
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Fri, Sep 23
    to Sun, Oct 2
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Fri, Sep 23
    to Sun, Oct 2
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Fri, Sep 23
    to Sun, Oct 2
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Sep 26
to Wed, Oct 5
Departure: Monday, September 26
Return: Wed, Oct 5
Close
From $4,195
  • From $4,195
  • Mon, Sep 26
    to Wed, Oct 5
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,545
  • From $4,545
  • Mon, Sep 26
    to Wed, Oct 5
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Sep 26
    to Wed, Oct 5
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,845
  • From $2,845
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Sep 30
to Sun, Oct 9
Departure: Friday, September 30
Return: Sun, Oct 9
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Fri, Sep 30
    to Sun, Oct 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Fri, Sep 30
    to Sun, Oct 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Fri, Sep 30
    to Sun, Oct 9
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,695
  • From $2,695
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
October
Mon, Oct 3
to Wed, Oct 12
Departure: Monday, October 3
Return: Wed, Oct 12
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Mon, Oct 3
    to Wed, Oct 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Oct 3
    to Wed, Oct 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Mon, Oct 3
    to Wed, Oct 12
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,695
  • From $2,695
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Oct 10
to Wed, Oct 19
Departure: Monday, October 10
Return: Wed, Oct 19
Close
From $4,045
  • From $4,045
  • Mon, Oct 10
    to Wed, Oct 19
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Oct 10
    to Wed, Oct 19
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,145
  • From $4,145
  • Mon, Oct 10
    to Wed, Oct 19
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,695
  • From $2,695
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Oct 14
to Sun, Oct 23
Departure: Friday, October 14
Return: Sun, Oct 23
Close
From $3,495
  • From $3,495
  • Fri, Oct 14
    to Sun, Oct 23
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,845
  • From $3,845
  • Fri, Oct 14
    to Sun, Oct 23
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,595
  • From $3,595
  • Fri, Oct 14
    to Sun, Oct 23
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,295
  • From $2,295
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Fri, Oct 21
to Sun, Oct 30
Departure: Friday, October 21
Return: Sun, Oct 30
Close
From $3,295
  • From $3,295
  • Fri, Oct 21
    to Sun, Oct 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,645
  • From $3,645
  • Fri, Oct 21
    to Sun, Oct 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $3,395
  • From $3,395
  • Fri, Oct 21
    to Sun, Oct 30
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $2,295
  • From $2,295
  • (800) 245-3868
Close

Air Package Plus Single Supplement: $445 | Land Only Single Supplement: $295

Please note: Web Special savings cannot be combined with any other offer. Standard Terms & Conditions apply when purchasing this trip. 2016 Prices include all airline surcharges and Government taxes and fees. Ask our Tour Consultants for details. Every effort has been made to produce this information accurately. We reserve the right to correct errors. Prices are based on preferences selected above, including meals and sightseeing as specified in What’s Included. All prices are subject to change. Departure dates and prices shown may be updated several times daily, and apply to new bookings only.

2007399E-LOGO AFKLM Q