Due to high demand, this tour has limited availability for 2018. Please call one of our Tour Consultants at (800) 245-3868 today.

Limited Availability for 2018

Bicycling and Walking Vacations Call a VBT Tour Consultant: (800) 245-3868

Biking Southern Portugal: Alentejo to the Algarve

Ebikes Available on this TourShhhhh. The Eastern Algarve and Alentejo’s high plains are Portugal’s best kept secrets—for now. This is the Europe of yesteryear: charming, simple, authentic.

  • 10 Days
  • Activity Level: Easy / Moderate
  • Daily Mileage: 11 - 37 mi
  • Daily Biking: 2 - 5 hr
  • Small Groups: 14 - 20
  • Biking Activity
  • Ideal for energetic beginners to more experienced riders.
  • Airfare Packages Available

New for 2018!

Ebikes Available on this Tour

E-Bikes Available

Limited quantities —
first come, first serve.

Why You'll Love This Tour

Overview

Biking Southern Portugal: Alentejo to the Algarve

Let us inspire you with fresh seafood, deliciously affordable wines, and savory Mediterranean cuisine with refreshing stops for gelato. Discover alabaster villages splashed with blazing blue and get lost in their maze of cobbled walkways and cozy cafés. The route meanders through ancient cork forests, vineyards, and olive groves, along beaches and quiet roads made for cycling. Embark on a river cruise bordering the Spanish Andalucia, pause for a bountiful picnic, and become inspired by rich history. There’s nowhere like two-wheeling in Portugal.

Cultural Highlights

  • Explore the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Évora and the Chapel of the Bones
  • Discover the charm of hilltop Monsaraz
  • Cycle past acres of cork and olive trees
  • Step back in time during your stay in the ancient town of Mértola
  • Follow the Guadiana River by bike and by boat
  • Relax at an elegant retreat in the scenic Algarve
  • Savor Portugal’s traditional cuisine and wines

What to Expect

This tour offers a combination of rolling terrain and moderate-to-challenging hills. Our VBT support van is always available for those who need assistance. Ideal for energetic beginners and experienced cyclists.

Average Daily Mileage: 11 – 37 miles
Average Cycling Time: 2 – 5 hours

Climate Information

Average High/Low Temperature (°F) – Évora
Mar 62°/46° Apr 64°/48° May 70°/52°  Sep 81°/60°  Oct 71°/55°  Nov 62°/49°

Average Precipitation (in.) – Évora
Mar 1.6  Apr 2.3  May 2.0  Sep 1.2  Oct 2.7  Nov 3.0

What’s Included:

Ebikes Available on this Tour

E-Bikes Available on this tour.

Limited quantities — first come, first serve. Learn more.

Bicycle Vacation Only – without Air

  • 6 nights in 3-, 4-, and 5-star hotels
  • 15 meals – 6 breakfasts, 5 lunches, 4 dinners

International Air Package

  • Roundtrip international airfare
  • 6 nights in 3-, 4-, and 5-star hotels
    PLUS: 2 extra nights in Lisbon in the historical Pousada de Lisboa – a member of “Small Luxury Hotels”
  • 17 meals – 8 breakfasts, 5 lunches, 4 dinners
  • ALL overseas transfers
  • AND the option to add our Low-Cost Trip Extensions:
    Pre-trip: Lisbon – 2 nights for only $445-695*
    Post-trip: The Algarve – 2 nights from only $295-395*

Both Vacation Options Include

Dates & Prices
Refine Your Tour Results

Due to high demand, this tour has limited availability for 2018. Please call one of our Tour Consultants at (800) 245-3868 today.

  • Select Airport
    Close
  • Select Months
    Close

Departure &
Return Dates

Now Showing:

NEW YORK

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

LOS ANGELES

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

BOSTON

Air Package Plus 10 Days Includes round-trip international airfare

Land Only

Air Not Included,
Departs after Air Package Plus.
September
Mon, Sep 17
to Wed, Sep 26
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Sep 17
    to Wed, Sep 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Mon, Sep 17
    to Wed, Sep 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Mon, Sep 17
    to Wed, Sep 26
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Sep 19
to Tue, Sep 25

Tour Begins: Wednesday, September 19
Tour Ends: Tuesday, September 25

Close
From $3,395
  • From $3,395
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
October
Mon, Oct 1
to Wed, Oct 10
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Oct 1
    to Wed, Oct 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Mon, Oct 1
    to Wed, Oct 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Mon, Oct 1
    to Wed, Oct 10
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Oct 3
to Tue, Oct 9

Tour Begins: Wednesday, October 3
Tour Ends: Tuesday, October 9

Close
From $3,395
  • From $3,395
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Oct 8
to Wed, Oct 17
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,495
  • From $4,495
  • Mon, Oct 8
    to Wed, Oct 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,845
  • From $4,845
  • Mon, Oct 8
    to Wed, Oct 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,595
  • From $4,595
  • Mon, Oct 8
    to Wed, Oct 17
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Oct 10
to Tue, Oct 16

Tour Begins: Wednesday, October 10
Tour Ends: Tuesday, October 16

Close
From $3,395
  • From $3,395
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Oct 15
to Wed, Oct 24
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Oct 15
    to Wed, Oct 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,645
  • From $4,645
  • Mon, Oct 15
    to Wed, Oct 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Oct 15
    to Wed, Oct 24
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Oct 17
to Tue, Oct 23

Tour Begins: Wednesday, October 17
Tour Ends: Tuesday, October 23

Close
From $3,295
  • From $3,295
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Oct 22
to Wed, Oct 31
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Oct 22
    to Wed, Oct 31
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,645
  • From $4,645
  • Mon, Oct 22
    to Wed, Oct 31
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Oct 22
    to Wed, Oct 31
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Oct 24
to Tue, Oct 30

Tour Begins: Wednesday, October 24
Tour Ends: Tuesday, October 30

Close
From $3,295
  • From $3,295
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Oct 29
to Wed, Nov 7
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Oct 29
    to Wed, Nov 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,645
  • From $4,645
  • Mon, Oct 29
    to Wed, Nov 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Oct 29
    to Wed, Nov 7
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Oct 31
to Tue, Nov 6

Tour Begins: Wednesday, October 31
Tour Ends: Tuesday, November 6

Close
From $3,295
  • From $3,295
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
November
Mon, Nov 5
to Wed, Nov 14
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $4,295
  • From $4,295
  • Mon, Nov 5
    to Wed, Nov 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,645
  • From $4,645
  • Mon, Nov 5
    to Wed, Nov 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,395
  • From $4,395
  • Mon, Nov 5
    to Wed, Nov 14
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Nov 7
to Tue, Nov 13

Tour Begins: Wednesday, November 7
Tour Ends: Tuesday, November 13

Close
From $3,295
  • From $3,295
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Mon, Nov 12
to Wed, Nov 21
Air Package Includes:
  • Roundtrip International Airfare.
  • All transfers.
  • An extra night or two of hotel accommodations.
Close
From $3,995
  • From $3,995
  • Mon, Nov 12
    to Wed, Nov 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,345
  • From $4,345
  • Mon, Nov 12
    to Wed, Nov 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
From $4,095
  • From $4,095
  • Mon, Nov 12
    to Wed, Nov 21
  • (800) 245-3868
Close
Wed, Nov 14
to Tue, Nov 20

Tour Begins: Wednesday, November 14
Tour Ends: Tuesday, November 20

Close
From $3,095
  • From $3,095
  • (800) 245-3868
Close